MUN 2010 Committees, Topics, and Chairs

1. United Nations Security Council 2. Historical United Nations Security Council 3. NATO 4. Arab League 5. African Union 6. World Health Organization 7. ECOSOC 8. SPECPOL 9. Press Committee

Please note that one POSITION PAPER per topic (1-2 pages each) will be required of all delegates (except press committee delegates) and will be due to committee chairs by January 17, 2010. Please contact your committee chairs via the email links below if you have questions.

Each committee is staffed by a Chair, Vice Chair, and Chief of Staff. Further, the conference is run by a dedicated team of student staff including the Staff Manager, Committee Coordinators, Conference Staff, and Crisis Staff, all listed below.

Each committee will discuss one to two topics during the conference. Once you find out what committee you are assigned to, make sure to read the background guides for each topic that the committee will discuss. You are responsible for doing further research on the topic beyond this basic information – the background guide is simply a starting point for your research. Background guides rarely contain country-specific information, so you will need to research your country’s position on each issue.

If you have questions about your committee or your topic, you may contact your committee chair, vice chair, or chief of staff via e-mail.

1. United Nations Security Council

15 Delegates:  Austria, Burkina Faso, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, France, Japan, Libya, Mexico, Russia, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, VietnamChair:  Oscar Ibrahim (SFS ’10)Vice Chair:  Nehal El Deeb (SFS ’12)Chief of Staff:  Eilin Francis (SFS ’13)Topics:

  • The Wall in Israel and Palestine
  • Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty

2. Historical United Nations Security Council

15 DelegatesRound One:  Cuban Missile CrisisRound Two:  Rwanda 1994Chair: Amna Al Thani (SFS ’11)Vice Chair: Haajerah Khan (SFS ’10)Chief of Staff: Malik Habayeb (SFS ’13)Topics:

  • Cuban Missile Crisis
  • Rwanda 1994 – THIS IS AN UPDATED GUIDE (as of December 5th).


25 Delegates:  Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of AmericaChair:  Maryam Rowhani (SFS ’11)Vice Chair:  Fatima Muneer (SFS ’11)Chief of Staff:  Aya El Wadia (SFS ’13)Topics:

  • Maritime Piracy:  The Case of Somalia
  • The Afghanistan/Pakistan Border

4. Arab League

25 Delegates:  Algeria, Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea (observer), India (observer), Iraq, Jordan, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Somalia (observer), Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, Yemen

Chair: Hadi Darvishi (SFS ’10)Vice Chair: Safiullah Taye (SFS ’12)Chief of Staff:  Reine Atrach (SFS ’11)Topics:

  • Migrant Workers in the Middle East – THIS IS AN UPDATED GUIDE (as of December 18th).
  • The Wall in Israel and Palestine

5. African Union

52 Delegates: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Cote D’Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Western Sahara, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Chair:  Zainab Elfil (SFS ’11)Vice Chair: Jibin Koshy (SFS ’12)Chief of Staff: Fatima Ramadan Sanz (SFS ’13)Topics:

  • Maritime Piracy:  The Case of Somalia
  • Crisis in Darfur

6. World Health Organization

60 Delegates

Chair:  Al Jazi Darwish (SFS ’10)Vice Chair:  Abdulla Al Sabah (SFS ’11)Chief of Staff: Louloua Al Rodaini (SFS ’11)Topics:

  • The International Response to H1N1 (Subtopic: Pharmaceutical Companies and Generic Drugs)


60 DelegatesChair:  Dwaa Osman (SFS ’10)Vice Chair:  Will Cha (SFS ’13)Chief of Staff:  Dianna Manalastas (SFS ’12)Topics:

  • Water: Technical Approaches to Improving Use and Management
  • Migrant Workers in the Middle East


60 DelegatesChair: Ibrahim Al Derbasti (SFS ’10)Vice Chair: Salma Mousa (SFS ’12)Chief of Staff: Mohammed Al Nasr (SFS ’13)Topics:

  • Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty
  • Afghanistan/Pakistan Border

9. Press Committee

36 DelegatesChair:  Nadim Al Rifai (SFS ’12)Vice Chair: Kawthar Ahen (SFS ’11)Chief of Staff: Lubna Sharab (SFS ’13)Adviser: Clare MaloneSetup: Three teams of 12 students each;

  • Al Jazeera International
  • BBC World
  • CNN International

The MUN press committee will consist of three news agencies. Each news agency will have 12 members on board. The first team will represent CNN International, the second Al Jazeera English, and the third BBC World. Over the course of the 4-day conference, each team is expected to produce blog entries and twitter feeds. These will focus on prominent events, sessions, and even individuals that would be of interest to our readers. Press committee members are expected to demonstrate dedication in their work whether it includes photography, public relations, or writing. The time frame of the conference means that optimum performance is demanded within the daily time constraints. Training and guidance will be provided for staff by the chairs of the press committee. The chairs will be available for assistance throughout MUN and will gladly answer any questions before or during the event.

Each team will consist of:

  • Editor in Chief
  • Managing Editor
  • News Editor
  • Head Writer
  • Writers (4)
  • Photographers (2)
  • Public Relations Staff (2)