MUN 2012


MUN Committees and Topics 2012

2012 Theme: The Arab Awakening

Head of Student Staff: Marlene Nang
Secretary General: Will Cha
Deputy Secretary Generals: Mohammad Khalil Harb and Farah Al Qwasmi


1. United Nations Security Council (SC)

President: Al Jazi Al Thani (contact
Vice President: Loukas Kyprianou
Rapporteur: Jihad Hassan
Chief Administrative Staff: Bilal Shakir

  • Standards for Intervention
  • Palestinian Statehood


2. United Nations Human Rights Commission (HRC)

President: Will Cha (contact
Vice President: Maram Al Dafa
Rapporteur: Fahad Al Khater
Chief Administrative Staff: Dalia El Sayed

  • Rights of Indigenous People and the Right to Self-Determination
  • Human Rights Issues in China, with special regards to Tibet


3. United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC)

President: Eilin Francis (contact)
Vice President: Danah Dehdary
Rapporteur: Emir Hasanovijk
Chief Administrative Staff: Talal Al-Naama

  • Debt Crisis – Austerity Measures: Europe and the Rest of the World
  • Imposition of Free Trade Agreements


4. United Nations Special Political and Decolonization Committee (SPECPOL)

President: Sara Al Mesnad (contact
Vice President: Mohamad Khalil Harb
Rapporteur: Omar Hashem
Chief Administrative Staff: Haya Al Romaihi

Please note that these two topics are together in one guide.

  • International Cooperation of Peaceful Utilization of Outer space (Prevention of Cyber Warfare)
  • UN Blue Helmets – Effectiveness and Possibility of Permanent Residence


5. African Union (AU)

President: Mohammed Al-Nasr (contact
Vice President: Mashael Al Hajri
Rapporteur: Arwa El Sanosi
Chief Administrative Staff: Mak Selimovic

  • Problem of Famine
  • State Building - South Sudan


6. Arab League (AL)

President: Al Jawhara Al Thani (contact
Vice President: Shady Abdelhamid
Rapporteur: Ali Buainain
Chief Administrative Staff: Sabah Khandar

  • Solving the crisis of and potential state building after the Arab Spring
  • Human Rights of Migrant Workers


7. International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)

President: Safiullah Taye (contact
Vice President: Emilio Ocampo
Rapporteur: Gabriella Zoia
Chief Administrative Staff: Sara Saeed

  • Phasing out Nuclear Energy
  • Using nuclear techniques to solve key water issues


8. International Court of Justice (ICJ)

President: Fatema Hubail (contact
Vice President: Caroline Abi-Saleh
Rapporteur: Farah Mallah
Chief Justice: Mariam Bengali


  • Military and Paramilitary Activities in and against Nicaragua (Nicaragua v. United States of America) (1984)
  • Questions of Interpretation and Application of the 1971 Montreal Convention arising from the Aerial Incident at Lockerbie (Libyan Arab Jamahiriya v. United Kingdom) (1992)
  • ICJ Background Guide
  • A Guide to the ICJ


9. Press Committee

President: Noora Al Mannai (Contact
Vice President: Nikhil Lakhanpal