Schedule Spring 2018

Thursday, January 11, 2018
Seminar: 12:45 pm
Location: 0A13

Kambiz Ghaneabassiri, Reed College, “Muslims in America: Lessons in the Globalization of Islam in the Modern Era."
Moderator: Karine Walther, GU-Q

Tuesday, January 23, 2018
Seminar: 6:00 pm
Location: EPS

Nathan Citino, Rice University, “Envisioning the Arab Future: Modernization in US-Arab Relations, 1945-1967."
Moderator: Karine Walther, GU-Q

Tuesday, January 30, 2018
Seminar: 12:45 pm
Location: 0A13

Ana Cascao, Independent Researcher, “Rule of Experts in the Nile Basin – Can they change the hydropolitical trajectory?”

Moderator: Harry Verhoeven, GU-Q

Tuesday, February 20, 2018
Seminar: 12:45 pm

Sami Hermez, Northwestern University in Qatar, “War is Coming: Between Past and Future Violence in Lebanon”
Moderator: Firat Oruc, GU-Q

Tuesday, February 27, 2018
Seminar: 12:45 pm

Michael Provence, University of California San Diego, “The Last Ottoman Generation and the Making of the Modern Middle East”
Moderator: Abdul Rahman Chamseddine, GU-Q

Wednesday, March 7, 2018
Seminar:
12:45 pm

Edward Moad, Qatar University, "Logic and Critical Thinking: An Introduction for Muslim Students"
Moderator: Sohaira Siddiqui, GU-Q

Tuesday, March 13, 2018
Seminar: 12:45 pm

Janet Martin, Bowdoin College, " The Gendered Executive: The American Presidency, Human Rights, and Women."
Moderator: Clyde Wilcox, GU-Q

Tuesday, March 20, 2018
Seminar: 12:45 pm

Nadine Hamdan, Georgetown University in Qatar, 'What it means to be Lebanese' in the voice of Hizbullah"
Moderator: Sohaira Siddiqui, GU-Q

Tuesday, March 27, 2018
Seminar: 12:45 pm

Sophie Richter-Devroe, Doha Institute for Graduate Studies, “The Palestinian Bedouin in Israel: Negotiating Loyalty and Critique in the Settler-Colonial State”
Moderator: Firat Oruc, GU-Q

--  This event is canceled. --

Wednesday, March 28, 2018

Seminar: 5:00 pm

Jianfu Ma, North Minzu University of China, “Halal, Qingzhen and Toyyiban; Everyday Practice of Islam in China”
Moderator: Max Oidtmann, GU-Q

Wednesday, April 4, 2018
Seminar: 5:00 pm

Khadijah Elshayyal, University of Edinburgh, "Muslim Identity Politics"
Moderator: Abdullah Al-Arian, GU-Q

Tuesday, April 10, 2018
Seminar
: 12:45 pm

Max Oidtmann, Georgetown University in Qatar, “Legal Pluralism and Religious Piety in 19th-Century Tibet.”
Moderator: Karine Walther, GU-Q

Wednesday, April 18, 2018
Seminar: 4:30 pm

Kieran Oberman, University of Edinburgh, "Refugee Discrimination – The Good, the Bad and the Politically Expedient"
Moderator: Karl Widerquist, GU-Q