Notable Georgetown Alumni

Georgetown University graduates go on to be leaders in a variety of career fields. Alumni hold leadership posts in academia, the arts, business, government, legal, medical, and non-profit sectors throughout the world. A sample of alumni successes include: 

Law, Government, and Politics

  •  Sheikh Abdullah bin Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani (SFS ’10) – Deputy Emir of the State of Qatar
  •  William Jefferson Clinton (SFS’68) – Former President of the United States
  •  Antonin Scalia (C’57) – Supreme Court justice
  •  George Tenet (SFS’76) – Former director of Central Intelligence
  •  Michael Powell (L’93) – Chairman, Federal Communications Commission
  •  Gen. James Jones (F’66) – Former supreme allied commander, Europe, North American Treaty Organization
  •  William McDonough (G’62) – Former president and CEO, Federal Reserve Bank of N.Y.; Vice-Chairman, Merrill Lynch
  •  Mark Morial (L’83) – Former mayor of New Orleans
  •  Scott Thomas (L’77) – Former commissioner, Federal Elections Commission
  •  Andrew Natsios, (C’71) – Special Envoy to Darfur; Former administrator, U.S. Agency for International Development
  •  Gloria Macapagal Arroyo (SFS’68) – president of the Philippines
  •  Thomas Ambro (C’72, L’75) – Judge, United States Court of Appeals
  •  Franklin L. Lavin (SFS’79, G’85) – Ambassador to Singapore
  •  George Mitchell (L’61) – Former majority leader, U.S. Senate
  •  Mickey Kantor (L’68) – Former secretary of Commerce
  •  Alfredo Cristiani (B’68) – Former president of El Salvador  

U.S. Congress

  •  Sen. Patrick Leahy (L’64) – D-VT
  •  Sen. Richard Durbin (SFS’66; L’78) – D-IL
  •  Sen. Lisa Murkowski (C’80) – R-AK
  •  Sen. James Webb (L’75) – D-VA
  •  Rep. Michael Castle (L’64) – R-DE
  •  Rep. Henry Cuellar (SFS’78) – D-TX
  •  Rep. John Dingell (C’49, L’52) – D-MI
  •  Rep. Mike Ferguson (MPP’95) – R-NJ
  •  Rep. Jeff Fortenberry (G’86) – R-NE
  •  Rep. Stephanie Herseth (C’93, G/L’96/PhD ’03) – D-SD
  •  Rep. Mazie Hirono (L’78) – D-HI
  •  Rep. Steny Hoyer (L’66) – D-MD
  •  Rep. William Jefferson (L’96) – D-LA
  •  Rep. Mark Steven Kirk (L’92) – R-IL
  •  Rep. Daniel Lungren (L’71) – R-CA
  •  Rep. Chris Van Holl Jr. (L’90) – D-MD
  •  Rep. Peter Visclosky (L’82) – D-IN
  •  Rep. Frank Wolf (L’65) – R-VA
  •  Rep. Albert Wynn (L’77) – D-MD
  •  Del. Luis Fortuno (SFS’82) – R-PR  


  •  Ted Leonsis (C’77) – Vice chairman, America Online and President, AOL Audience Business; majority owner, Washington Capitals hockey team
  •  Philip Marineau (C’68) – President and CEO, Levi Strauss & Co.
  •  Marcus Wallenberg (SFS’80) – Chairman, Skandinaviska Enskilda Banken
  •  Robert Emmett McDonough (F’49) – Founder and vice chairman, Remedy Temp, Inc.
  •  Edmond Villani (C’68) – Partner, Intana Management, LLC; former vice chairman, Deutsche Asset Management
  •  Ken “Dr. Fad” Hakuta (B’72) – Inventor and CEO, Foundation
  •  Jules Kroll (L’66) – President, Kroll-O’Gara Company
  •  Paul Nussbaum (L’71) – Former president, Patriot American Corporation
  •  Michael L. Chasen (MBA’95) – CEO & co-founder, Blackboard Inc.
  •  Kristen M. Fletcher (MBA’84) – Former chairman, ABN-AMRO, Inc.
  •  Saadadeen R. Hariri (B’92) – CEO, Saudi Oger, Ltd.
  •  Michael E. Heisley, Jr. (B’86) – Executive vice president, Heico Companies
  •  Michael A. Todman (B’79) – President, Whirlpool Corporation International  

Entertainment, Media, and Culture

  •  Stuart Bloomberg (C’72) – Producer; former chairman, ABC Entertainment
  •  Jonathan Nolan (C’98) – Author of Memento
  •  Linda Gradstein (SFS’85) – Correspondent, National Public Radio (NPR)
  •  William Peter Blatty (C’50) – Author of The Exorcist
  •  John Guare (C’60; H’91) – Author and playwright
  •  Margaret Edson (G’92) – Pulitzer Prize winning author of Wit
  •  Maria Shriver (C’77) – First lady of California; best selling author
  •  Malcolm Lee (C’92) – Director, The Best Man and Undercover Brother
  •  Greta Van Susteren (L’79, L’82) – Anchorwoman, Fox News Network
  •  Richard L. Battista (B’86) – CEO, Gemstar-TV Guide, International  

Science and Medicine

  •  Patricia Grady (NHS’67) – Director of the National Institute of Nursing Research
  •  Antonia Novello (Hospital fellow ’75) – Physician, former U.S. Surgeon General
  •  John J. Ring (C’49; M’53) – Former president, American Medical Association
  •  Solomon Snyder (C’59, M’62) – Neuroscientist
  •  Andrew C. von Eschenbach (M’67) – Commissioner of the Food and Drug Administration

Religion, Social Action, and Education

  •  Nasser Yousef Al-Jaber (SFS ’10) – CEO, Teach for Qatar
  •  Leo J. O’Donovan, S.J. (C’56) – 47th president, Georgetown University
  •  Joan Claybrook (L’73) – President, Public Citizen
  •  Robert M. Hayes (C’74) – Founder, Coalition for the Homeless
  •  Rev. Daniel K. Lahart, S.J. (B ’83) – President of Strake Jesuit College Preparatory School, Houston, TX
  •  Rev. Brian Paulson, S.J. (SFS ’81) – President of St. Ignatius College Preparatory School, Chicago, IL
  •  Anthony Shriver (C’88) – Founder and chairman, Best Buddies International
  •  Most Rev. Thomas J. Rodi (C ’71) – Bishop, Diocese of Biloxi, MS
  •  Sister Kathleen Ross, SNJM (G ’71) – Founding President, Heritage College, Yakima, WA
  •  Rev. John Whitney, S.J., (C’80) – Provincial of the Oregon Province of the Society of Jesus  


  •  Sheikh Mohammed bin Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani (SFS ’09) – Chairman of Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup bid committee
  •  Paul Tagliabue (C’62) – Former commissioner, National Football League
  •  Arlen Kantarian (B’75) – Chief executive, Professional Tennis, U.S. Tennis Association
  •  Patrick Ewing (C’85) – Former professional basketball player, New York Knicks, Seattle SuperSonics, Orlando Magic
  •  Othella Harrington (C’96) – Professional basketball player, Charlotte Bobcats
  •  Dikembe Mutombo (SLL’91) – Professional basketball player, Houston Rockets
  •  Don Reid (C’95) – Former professional basketball player, Detroit Pistons, Washington Wizards, Orlando Magic
  •  Jerome Williams (C’96) – Former professional basketball player, Chicago Bulls, Detroit Pistons, New York Knicks, Toronto Raptors
  •  Jaren Jackson (B’89) – Former professional basketball player; Head Coach, Pittsburgh Xplosion
  •  Jahidi White (C’98) – Former professional basketball player, Cleveland Cavaliers
  •  Ruben Boumtje Boumtje (C’01) – Former professional basketball player, Orlando Magic

C – CollegeSFS – School of Foreign ServiceB – BusinessSLL- School of Language and LinguisticsG – Graduate School of Arts and SciencesL – Law CenterM – School of MedicineNHS – Nursing and Health StudiesDDS – Dental SchoolSCS – School of Continuing Studies