Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar 2021-2022

The academic year is divided into two semesters. The 2021-2022 academic year is scheduled as follows:

First semester: August 22, 2021 – December 11, 2021

Second semester: January 4, 2022 – April 28, 2022

Fall 2021Spring 2022
Sun July 20, 2021 – Thu July 23, 2021
Expected dates for Eid al Adha
Tue Jan 4th, 2022
Classes begin. Registration changes accepted – add/drop continues
Sun Aug 15, 2021 – Thu Aug 19, 2021
New Student Orientation
FY Students’ English Placement Test (depends on NSO schedule)
FY Students’ Language Placement Test (depends on NSO schedule)
Thu Jan 6th, 2022
Classes run as Sunday schedule
Thu Aug 19, 2021
New Student Academic Convocation (First-years)
Thu Jan 10th, 2022
Last day for registration changes; Last day withdraw without W grade
Sun Aug 22, 2021
Classes begin. Registration changes accepted – add/drop continues
Tue Feb 8th, 2022
Qatar National Sports Day – no classes
Tue Aug 24, 2021
GU-Q – Last day for waitlist; Winners may claim a seat until Wednesday 25 August at 3:45 PM (EST) / 10:45 PM Qatar Time
Thu Feb. 24th, 2022
Spring break begins after the last class
Wed Aug 25, 2021
GU-Q waitlists purged – all available seats open for general registration
Sun Feb 27th – Thu March 3rd, 2022
Spring break – no classes
Fri Aug 27, 2021
Registration closes at 11:59 pm Doha time.
Last day to drop without the grade of W.
Sun Mar 6th, 2022
Classes Resume
Mon Sep 20, 2021
Undergraduate First-Year Student Advisory Grades Due
Mon Apr 4, 2022
Registration begins for Fall
Thu Oct 7, 2021
Fall break begins after the last class
Mon Apr 4, 2022
Last Day to Withdraw from Courses.
Sun Oct 10, 2021 – Thu Oct 14, 2021
Mid-term break, no classes
Sun Apr 17, 2022
Easter Sunday – No classes
Sun Oct 17, 2021
Classes Resume
Wed Apr 20, 2022
Classes end; classes run as Thursday schedule
Mon Nov 8, 2021
Registration begins for the following Spring (exact dates TBC)
Thu Apr 21 & Fri Apr 22, 2022
Study Days
Thu Nov 18, 2021
Last day to withdraw from courses.
Sun Apr 23 – Thu Apr 28, 2022
Exam Days and end of the semester
Thu Dec 2, 2021
Classes end
Mon May 2nd, 2022
Grades for graduating seniors due by 3pm (Doha time)
Fri Dec 3, 2021 – Sat Dec 4, 2021
Study days
Thu May 3- Fri May 6, 2022
Expected dates for Eid Al Fitr
Sun Dec 5, 2021 – Thu Dec 9, 2021
Exam days
Sun May 8, 2022
All undergraduate grades due
Fri Dec 10, 2021
Study Day
Tue May 10, 2022
Qatar Foundation Convocation
Sat Dec 11, 2021
Exam day and end of the semester
Thu May 12, 2022
Commencement
Thu Dec. 16, 2021
All grades due by 5 pm Doha time
Sun May 15, 2022
Registration for Fall re-opens
Sat Dec. 18, 2021
Qatar National day
Sun May 22, 2022
Summer school begins; last day to add/drop summer classes
Tue Dec. 21, 2021
Registration for Spring continues – TBC
Thu June 16, 2022
Last day to withdraw from summer classes.
Summer School 2022
Sun May 22, 2022
Summer school begins; last day to add/drop summer classes.
Thu June 16, 2022
Last day to withdraw from summer classes.
Thu June 23, 2022
Summer school classes end

Academic Calendar 2022

July 10th – 13th (U-W)
Expected dates for Eid Al-Adha
July 17th – 21st (U – R)
New Students Orientation
July 21st (R)
New Student Academic Convocation (First-years)
July 24th (U)
Classes begin, Registration changes accepted
July 27th (W)
GU-Q – Last day for waitlist;
Winners may claim seat until Thursday 3:59 PM(EST) / 11:59 PM Qatar Time
July 29th (F)
Live registration closes – Last Day to Drop without the grade of W.
September 8th (R )
Undergraduate First-Year Student Advisory Grades Due
September 8th (R )
Fall break begins after last class
September 9th – 12th (F-M)
Fall break, no classes
September 13th (T)
Classes Resume
November 6th – 18th (M – S)
Live Registration for Spring 2023 – TBC
October 13th (R)
Last Day to Withdraw from Courses with grade of W
October 31st (M )
Classes end
November 1st (T)
Study day
November 2nd – 3rd (W-R)
Exam days
November 4th (F)
Study Day
November 5th – 8th (S – T)
Exam days and end of semester
November 15th (T)
All grades due by 5pm Doha time
December 18th (U)
Qatar National day

More Downloads

Download the printable PDF version of the Academic Calendar for your convenience.