Academic Calendar

Academic Calendar 2020-2021

The academic year is divided into two semesters. The 2020-2021 academic year is scheduled as follows:

First semester: August 23, 2020 – December 12, 2020

Second semester: January 10, 2021 – May 4, 2021

Fall 2020Spring 2021
Sun July 12, 2020 – Thu Aug 20, 2020
New Students Orientation (online)
FY Students’ Language Placement Test (depends on NSO schedule)
Sun Jan 10th, 2021
Classes begin; Registration changes accepted; Add/drop continues
Thu Aug 20, 2020
New Student Academic Convocation (First-year)
Wed January 13th, 2021
Last waitlist run for Qatar classes. Students have until 11pm Thursday 14th to accept the waitlist seat offer.
Sun Aug 23, 2020
Classes begin, Registration changes accepted
Thu Jan 14th, 2021
Last day for registration changes.
Last day to withdraw without grade of W
Thu Aug 27, 2020
Last day for late registration; Last day to withdraw without grade of W
Sat Jan 23rd, 2021
Last day for 100% refund
Sun Aug 30, 2020
Pass/fail grading option requests open
Sat Feb 6th, 2021
Last day for 80% refund
Thu Oct 8, 2020
Undergraduate First-Year Student Advisory Grades Due
Tue Feb 9th, 2021
Qatar National Sports Day, no classes
Thu Oct 8, 2020
Mid-term break begins after the last class
Sat Feb 20th, 2021
Last day for 70% refund
Sun Oct 11, 2020 – Thu Oct 15, 2020
Mid-term holiday break, no classes
Thu February 25th, 2021
Last day of classes before Spring break
Sun Oct 18, 2020
Classes Resume
Sun February 28th – Thu March 4th
Spring break – no classes
Sat Oct 24, 2020
Last day for 40% refund
Sat Mar 6th, 2021
Last day for 50% refund
Mon Oct 26, 2020
Schedule for Spring 2021 available
Sun March 7th, 2021
Classes resume after Spring break
Mon Nov 9, 2020
Registration starts for Spring
Sat  Mar 13th, 2021
Last day for 40% refund
Thu Dec 3, 2020
Classes end
Sun Apr 4th, 2021
Easter Sunday – no classes
Fri Dec 4, 2020 – Sat Dec 5, 2020
Study days
Tue Apr 6th, 2021
Registration Start for Fall
Sat Dec 5, 2020
Last day to withdraw from class with grade of W
Mon April 26th, 2021
Classes end; Classes run as Tuesday schedule
Sun Dec 6, 2020 – Thu Dec 10, 2020
Exam days
Tue April 27th, 2021
Study Day &
Last Day to Withdraw from Courses with grade of W.
Fri Dec 11, 2020
Study Day
Wed April 28th & Thu 29th, 2021
Exam Days
Sat Dec 12, 2020
Exam day and end of the semester
Fri Apr 30th, 2021
Study Day
Fri Dec 18, 2020
Qatar National day
Sat May 1st– Tue May 4th, 2021
Exam Days and end of the semester
Sun Dec 20, 2020
All grades due by 5pm Doha time
Wed May 5th, 2021
Grades for graduating seniors due by 2pm (Doha time)
TBC
Qatar Foundation Convocation
Sat May 8th, 2021
Commencement
Tue May 11th, 2021
All undergraduate grades due
Wed May 12th, 2021 – Sun May 16th, 2021
Eid Al-Fitr break
Summer School 2021
May 23rd (U)
Summer school begins
June 17th (R )
University holiday – no classes.
June 20th (U)
Last Day to Withdraw from Summer Courses with a grade of W.
June 24th (R)
Summer school classes end
July 2nd (F)
Summer school grades due

Academic Calendar 2021

January 10rth(U)
Classes begin; Registration changes accepted; Add/drop continues
January 13th (W)
Last waitlist run for Qatar classes. Students have until 11pm
Thursday 14th
to accept the waitlist seat offer.
January 14th (R )
Last day for registration changes. Last day to withdraw without grade of W
January 23 rd (S)
Last day for 100% refundFebruary 6th (S)Last day for 80% refund
February 9th (T)
Qatar National Sports Day, no classes
February 20th (S)
Last day for 70% refund
February 25th ( R)
Last day of classes before Spring break
February 28th – March 4th (S – R)
Spring break – no classes
March 7th (U)
Classes resume after Spring break
March 6th (S)
Last day for 50% refund
March 13th (S)
Last day for 40% refund
April 4th (U)
Easter Sunday – no classes
April 6th (T)
Registration starts for Fall
April 26th (M)
Classes end; Classes run as of Tuesday schedule
April 27th (T)
Study Day
April 27th (T)
Last Day to Withdraw from Courses with grade of W.
April 28th – 29th (W – R)
Exam Days
April 30th (F)
Study day
May 1st– May 4th (S – T)
Exam Days and end of semester
May 5th (W )
Grades for graduating seniors due by 2pm (Doha time)
TBA
Qatar Foundation Convocation
May 8th (S)
Commencement
May 11th (T)
All undergraduate grades due
May 12th – 16th (W – U)
Eid al Fitr break (expected)
May 23rd (U)
Summer school begins.
Last day to add./drop for summer
June 17th (R )
University holiday – no classes.
June 20th (U)
Last Day to Withdraw from Summer Courses with a grade of W.
June 24th (R)
Summer school classes end
July 2nd (F)
Summer school grades due
Tue Jul 20, 2021 – Fri Jul 23, 2021

Expected dates for Eid al Adha

Sun Aug 15, 2021 – Thu Aug 19, 2021

New Students Orientation
FY Students’ English Placement Test (depends on NSO schedule)
FY Students’ Language Placement Test (depends on NSO schedule)

Thu Aug 19, 2021

New Student Academic Convocation (First-years)

Sun Aug 22, 2021

Classes begin, Registration changes accepted

Wed Aug 25, 2021

GU-Q – Last day for waitlist; Winners may claim a seat on Thursday until 3:45 PM (EST) / 11:45 PM(Qatar Time)

Thu Aug 26, 2021

Registration closes – Last Day to Drop without the grade of W.

Mon Sep 20, 2021

Undergraduate First-Year Student Advisory Grades Due

Thu Oct 7, 2021

Fall break begins after last class

Sun Oct 10, 2021 – Thu Oct 14, 2021

Fall Break, No Classes

Sun Oct 17, 2021

Classes Resume

Mon Nov 8, 2021

Registration begins for following Spring

Thu Nov 18, 2021

Last Day to Withdraw from Courses

Thu Dec 2, 2021

Classes End

Fri Dec 3, 2021 – Sat Dec 4, 2021

Study days

Sun Dec 5, 2021 – Thu Dec 9, 2021

Exam days

Fri Dec 10, 2021

Study Day

Sat Dec 11, 2021

Exam day and End of the Semester

Thu Dec 16, 2021

All grades due by 5:00 pm (Doha time)

Sat Dec 18, 2021

Qatar National Day

Tue Dec 21, 2021

Registration for Spring continues – (TBC)

More Downloads

Download the printable PDF version of the Academic Calendar for your convenience.