Honor System

The Spirit of Georgetown - Academic Excellence

As a Jesuit, Catholic university, committed to the education of the whole person, Georgetown expects all members of the academic community, students and faculty, to strive for excellence in scholarship and in character and uphold the honor system. Students are required to sign a pledge certifying that they understand the provisions of the Honor System and will abide by it. Students reaffirm this pledge at New Student Convocation, just before fall classes begin.

The Honor Council is the principal administrative body of this system. The Honor Council has two primary responsibilities: to administer the procedures of the Honor System and to educate the faculty and undergraduate student body about the standards of conduct and procedures of the System.

Every student is required to complete the online Scholarly Research & Academic Integrity Tutorial during the first semester. In first year courses such as the Proseminar, students also receive instruction on proper forms of citation and how to avoid plagiarism. Click on the links to jump to the relevant section.

Georgetown Honor System – Mission, Policies and Practice

The Honor Council is the administrative body that encourages academic honesty amongst students and addresses student academic conduct which violates the Honor Code.  It is important that all Georgetown students understand and abide by the Honor Pledge, taken during New Student Convocation, and know the Standards of Conduct governed by the Honor Council. All student rights with respect to the Honor Code and all Honor Council procedures are detailed online, and students are encouraged to be familiar with these.

Honor Council Members – Spring 2022

Students 23 (2 on leave)

  • Sanskriti Tandon, U4 (Student Chair and interim)
  • Sanction Reduction (Chair)
  • Anjali Singh, U3 (Faculty Outreach Chair)
  • Adeen Malik, U3 (on leave)
  • Kartikeya Uniyal, U3 (Training Chair)
  • DoHa Nguyen, U2 (Student Outreach Chair)
  • Taha Kaleem, U4
  • Aimen Khan, U4
  • Zoya Farid, U4
  • Rodolfo Muñoz Cárdenas, U3
  • Aashish Karn, U3
  • Lina Darwish, U3 (on leave)
  • Muhammad Carter, U3
  • Rahema Velmi, U3
  • Safina Ibrahim, U3
  • Shifa Nouman, U3
  • Muhammad Saad Ullah, U3
  • Nada Elgohini, U2
  • Pragyan Acharya, U2
  • Shaheer Liaqat, U2
  • Hyguette Irakoze Umuhoza, U2
  • Haboon Jibril, U2
  • Anam Fatima, U2
  • Dana Darwish, U2

Faculty: 19 (3 on Leave)

  • Jeremy Koons (Faculty Chair)
  • Akin Akinade (on leave)
  • Abdullah Al-Arian
  • Alexis Antoniades
  • Amira El-Zein
  • Hany Fazza
  • Santiago Garcia-Couto
  • Amanda Garrett
  • Trish Kahle
  • Omar Khalifah
  • Phoebe Musandu
  • Gerd Nonneman
  • Firat Oruc
  • Jack Rossbach
  • Ayman Shabana
  • Sohaira Siddiqui (on leave)
  • Karine Walther
  • Karl Widerquist (on leave)
  • Hana Zabara

Writing Consultant

  • Kerry Sauer (Writing Center)



  • Vicky Kynourgiopoulou
  • Brendan Hill
  • Christine Schiwietz
  • Anne Nebel
  • Julien Moutte

Executive Director

  • Kai-Henrik Barth


Resources for Students

  • Turnitin.com Student Guide
  • Writing Center – meet with a writing tutor to learn skills that will make you a successful writer.
  • Personal Librarian – email your set a meeting with your personal librarian to learn skills that will make you a successful researcher.  
  • Library Writing Guides – including resource management tools and citation style guides 
Turnitin.com Video Tutorial

Resources for Faculty