Academic Calendar

Spring2019
Tue Jan 8, 2019

Classes begin; Registration changes accepted; Add/drop continues

Thu Jan 10, 2019

Classes run as Sunday schedule

Fri Jan 11, 2019

Waitlist last run for Qatar courses

Mon Jan 14, 2019

Last day for registration changes, add/drop ends

Tue Feb 12, 2019

Qatar National Sports Day, no classes

Sun Mar 3, 2019 - Thu Mar 7, 2019 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Spring break

Sun Mar 10, 2019

Classes Resume

Thu Mar 21, 2019

Last Day to Withdraw from Courses

Mon Apr 8, 2019

Live registration for Fall Begins

Sun Apr 21, 2019

Easter Sunday, no classes

Tue Apr 23, 2019 - Thu Apr 25, 2019 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Waitlist runs at 12 midnight Doha time

Wed Apr 24, 2019

Class end, Classes runs as Thursday schedule

Thu Apr 25, 2019 - Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Study Days

Sat Apr 27, 2019 - Thu May 2, 2019 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Live Registration for fall closes during exams

Sat Apr 27, 2019 - Thu May 2, 2019 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Exam Days and end of semester

Fri May 3, 2019

Fall live Registration Re-Open

Sat May 4, 2019

Grades for graduating seniors due by 5pm (Doha time)

Tue May 7, 2019

Qatar Foundation Convocation

Wed May 8, 2019

All undergraduate grades due

Thu May 9, 2019

GU-Q Commencement

Mon May 13, 2019 - Wed Aug 28, 2019 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Waitlist runs at 12 midnight Doha time on US Weekdays(Monday-Friday, excluding US holidays)

Sun May 19, 2019

Summer school classes begin

Thu May 30, 2019

Eid Al Fitr break begins after last class

Sun Jun 2, 2019 - Thu Jun 6, 2019 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Eid Al Fitr break

Sun Jun 9, 2019

Summer classes resume

Thu Jun 27, 2019

Summer school classes end

Fall2019
Mon Aug 12, 2019 - Wed Aug 14, 2019 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Expected dates for Eid al Adha

Sun Aug 18, 2019

Add/drop for continuing students opens

Sun Aug 18, 2019 - Thu Aug 22, 2019 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

New Students Orientation

FY Students’ English Placement Test (depends on NSO schedule)
FY Students’ Language Placement Test (depends on NSO schedule)

Thu Aug 22, 2019

New Student Academic Convocation (First-years)

Sun Aug 25, 2019

Classes begin, Registration changes accepted

Thu Aug 29, 2019

Last day for late registration; Add/drop period ends

Mon Sep 30, 2019

Undergraduate First-Year Student Advisory Grades Due

Thu Oct 10, 2019

Mid-term break begins after last class

Sun Oct 13, 2019 - Thu Oct 17, 2019 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Mid-term holiday break, no classes

Sun Oct 20, 2019

Classes Resume

Thu Oct 31, 2019

Last Day to Withdraw from Courses

Mon Nov 4, 2019 - Sat Nov 16, 2019 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Pre-Registration for Spring 2019

Thu Dec 5, 2019

Classes End

Fri Dec 6, 2019 - Sat Dec 7, 2019 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Study Days

Sun Dec 8, 2019 - Thu Dec 12, 2019 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Exam days

Mon Dec 9, 2019 - Wed Dec 11, 2019 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Registration completion for Spring 2019

Fri Dec 13, 2019

Study Day

Sat Dec 14, 2019

Last exam day and end of semester

Wed Dec 18, 2019

Qatar National day

Fri Dec 20, 2019

Add / drop for Spring continues

Thu Dec 19, 2019

All grades due by 5pm (Doha time)

Spring2020
Tue Jan 7, 2020

Classes begin; Registration changes accepted; Add/drop continues

Thu Jan 9, 2020

Classes run as Sunday schedule

Mon Jan 13, 2020

Last day for registration changes, add/drop ends

Thu Feb 13, 2020

Qatar National Sports Day, no classes

Thu Feb 27, 2020

Spring break beings after last class

Sun Mar 1, 2020 - Thu Mar 5, 2020 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Spring break

Sun Mar 8, 2020

Classes Resume

Tue Mar 17, 2020

Last Day to Withdraw from Courses

Mon Apr 6, 2020 - Fri Apr 17, 2020 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Registration for Fall 2020

Sun Apr 12, 2020

Easter Sunday – no classes

Wed Apr 22, 2020

Classes end; Classes run as Thursday schedule

Thu Apr 23, 2020 - Fri Apr 24, 2020 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

(R - F) Study Days

Sat Apr 25, 2020 - Thu Apr 30, 2020 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Exam Days and end of semester

Tue Apr 28, 2020 - Thu Apr 30, 2020 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Fall Registration completion

Sun May 3, 2020

Fall Registration completion

Tue May 5, 2020

Qatar Foundation Convocation

Wed May 6, 2020

All Undergraduate grades due

Thu May 7, 2020

Commencement

Sun May 10, 2020

Add/drop for Fall begins

Sun May 17, 2020

Summer school begins

Sun May 24, 2020 - Thu May 28, 2020 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Eid al Fitr break

Sun May 31, 2020

Summer classes resume

Wed Jun 17, 2020

Add/drop for Fall closes until August 2020

Thu Jun 25, 2020

Summer school classes end

Fall2020
Sun Aug 16, 2020

Add/drop for continuing students opens

Sun Aug 16, 2020 - Thu Aug 20, 2020 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

"New Students Orientation"
FY Students’ English Placement Test (depends on NSO schedule)
FY Students’ Language Placement Test (depends on NSO schedule)

Thu Aug 20, 2020

New Student Academic Convocation (First-year)

Sun Aug 23, 2020

Classes begin, Registration changes accepted

Thu Aug 27, 2020

Last day for late registration; Add/drop period ends

Thu Oct 8, 2020

Undergraduate First-Year Student Advisory Grades Due

Thu Oct 8, 2020

Mid-term break begins after last class

Sun Oct 11, 2020 - Thu Oct 15, 2020 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Mid-term holiday break, no classes

Sun Oct 18, 2020

Classes Resume

Thu Nov 19, 2020

Last Day to Withdraw from Courses

Thu Dec 3, 2020

Classes end

Fri Dec 4, 2020 - Sat Dec 5, 2020 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Study days

Sun Dec 6, 2020 - Thu Dec 10, 2020 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Exam days

Fri Dec 11, 2020

Study Day

Sat Dec 12, 2020

Exam day and end of the semester

Fri Dec 18, 2020

Qatar National day

Sun Dec 20, 2020

All grades due by 5pm Doha time

Spring2021
Sun Jan 3, 2021

Classes begin; Registration changes accepted; Add/drop continues

Thu Jan 7, 2021

Last day for registration changes, add/drop ends

Tue Feb 9, 2021

Qatar National Sports Day, no classes

Thu Feb 25, 2021

Spring break beings after last class

Fri Feb 26, 2021 - Sat Mar 6, 2021 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Spring break

Sun Mar 7, 2021

Classes Resume

Sun Apr 4, 2021

Easter Sunday – no classes

Mon Apr 5, 2021

Last Day to Withdraw from Courses

Mon Apr 19, 2021

Classes end; Classes run as Tuesday schedule

Tue Apr 20, 2021

Study Day

Wed Apr 21, 2021 - Thu Apr 22, 2021 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Exam Days

Fri Apr 23, 2021

Study Day

Sat Apr 24, 2021 - Tue Apr 27, 2021 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Exam Days and end of the semester

Thu Apr 29, 2021

Grades for graduating seniors due by 5pm (Doha time)

Sat May 1, 2021

Qatar Foundation Convocation

Mon May 3, 2021

Commencement

Thu May 6, 2021

All undergraduate grades due

Thu May 13, 2021 - Sun May 16, 2021 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Eid Al-Fitr break

Sun May 23, 2021

Summer school begins

Thu Jun 24, 2021

Summer school classes end