Academic Calendar 2020-2021

The academic year is divided into two semesters. The 2020-2021 academic year is scheduled as follows:

First semester: August 23, 2020 – December 12, 2020

Second semester: January 3, 2021 – April 27, 2021

Spring 2020Fall 2020
Tue Jan 7, 2020
Classes begin; Registration changes accepted; Add/drop continues
Sun July 12, 2020 – Thu Aug 20, 2020
New Students Orientation (online)
FY Students’ Language Placement Test (depends on NSO schedule)
Thu Jan 9, 2020
Classes run as Sunday schedule
Thu Aug 20, 2020
New Student Academic Convocation (First-year)
Mon Jan 13, 2020
Last day for registration changes; Last day to drop without W grade
Sun Aug 23, 2020
Classes begin, Registration changes accepted
Tue Feb 11, 2020
Qatar National Sports Day, no classes
Thu Aug 27, 2020
Last day for late registration; Last day to withdraw without a grade of W
Thu Feb 27, 2020
Spring break beings after last class
Sun Aug 30, 2020
Pass/fail grading option requests open
Sun Mar 1, 2020 – Thu Mar 5, 2020
Spring break
Thu Oct 8, 2020
Undergraduate First-Year Student Advisory Grades Due
Sun Mar 8, 2020
Classes Resume
Thu Oct 8, 2020
Mid-term break begins after last class
Wed Apr 22, 2020
Last Day to Withdraw from Courses
Sun Oct 11, 2020 – Thu Oct 15, 2020
Mid-term holiday break, no classes
Mon Apr 6, 2020 – Fri Apr 17, 2020
Early Registration for Fall 2020
Sun Oct 18, 2020
Classes Resume
Sun Apr 12, 2020
Easter Sunday – no classes
Sat Oct 24, 2020
Last day for 40% refund
Thu Apr 23, 2020 – Fri Apr 24, 2020
(R – F) Study Days
Mon Oct 26, 2020
Schedule for Spring 2021 available
Sat Apr 25, 2020 – Thu Apr 30, 2020
Exam Days and end of semester
Mon Nov 9, 2020
Registration starts for Spring
Tue May 5, 2020
Qatar Foundation Convocation – postponed due to Covid-19 restrictions
Thu Dec 3, 2020
Classes end
Thu May 7, 2020
Commencement – postponed due to Covid-19 restrictions
Fri Dec 4, 2020 – Sat Dec 5, 2020
Study days
Thu May 7, 2020
Grades for graduating seniors due by 12 noon (Doha time)
Sat Dec 5, 2020
Last day to withdraw from class with grade of W
Fri May 15, 2020
All undergraduate grades due
Sun Dec 6, 2020 – Thu Dec 10, 2020
Exam days
Fri Dec 11, 2020
Study Day
Sat Dec 12, 2020
Exam day and end of the semester
Fri Dec 18, 2020
Qatar National day
Sun Dec 20, 2020
All grades due by 5pm Doha time
Summer School 2020
Sun May 17, 2020
Summer school begins; last day to add/drop summer courses
Sun May 24, 2020 – Thu May 28, 2020
Eid Al-Fitr break
Sun May 31, 2020
Summer classes resume
Thu Jun 25, 2020
Last day to withdraw from summer classes; Last day to request to take course pass/fail
Thu Jun 25, 2020
Summer school classes end
Thu Jul 2, 2020
Last day to submit summer session grades

Academic Calendar 2021

Sun Jan 3, 2021

Classes begin; Registration changes accepted; Add/drop continues

Thu Jan 7, 2021

Last day for registration changes, add/drop ends

Tue Feb 9, 2021

Qatar National Sports Day, no classes

Thu Feb 25, 2021

Spring break beings after last class

Fri Feb 26, 2021 – Sat Mar 6, 2021

Spring break

Sun Mar 7, 2021

Classes Resume

Sun Apr 4, 2021

Easter Sunday – no classes

Mon Apr 5, 2021

Last Day to Withdraw from Courses

Tue Apr 6, 2021

Registration Start for fall

Mon Apr 19, 2021

Classes end; Classes run as Tuesday schedule

Tue Apr 20, 2021

Study Day

Wed Apr 21, 2021 – Thu Apr 22, 2021

Exam Days

Fri Apr 23, 2021

Study Day

Sat Apr 24, 2021 – Tue Apr 27, 2021

Exam Days and end of the semester

Thu Apr 29, 2021

Grades for graduating seniors due by 5pm (Doha time)

Sat May 1, 2021

Qatar Foundation Convocation

Mon May 3, 2021

Commencement

Thu May 6, 2021

All undergraduate grades due

Thu May 13, 2021 – Sun May 16, 2021

Eid Al-Fitr break

Sun May 23, 2021

Summer school begins, Last day to add/drop for summer, last day to request pass/fail for summer

Wed Jun 17, 2020

Last Day to Withdraw from summer courses

Thu Jun 24, 2021

Summer school classes end

Sun May 23, 2021

Summer school begins,; last day to add/drop for summer; last day to request pass/fail for summer

Thu June 17, 2021

Last Day to Withdraw from summer Courses with grade of W

Thu June 24, 2021

Summer school classes end

Fri July 2, 2021

Summer school grades due

Tue Jul 20, 2021 – Fri Jul 23, 2021

Expected dates for Eid al Adha

Sun Aug 15, 2021 – Thu Aug 19, 2021

New Students Orientation
FY Students’ English Placement Test (depends on NSO schedule)
FY Students’ Language Placement Test (depends on NSO schedule)

Thu Aug 19, 2021

New Student Academic Convocation (First-years)

Sun Aug 22, 2021

Classes begin, Registration changes accepted

Wed Aug 25, 2021

GU-Q – Last day for waitlist; Winners may claim a seat on Thursday until 3:45 PM (EST) / 11:45 PM(Qatar Time)

Thu Aug 26, 2021

Registration closes – Last Day to Drop without the grade of W.

Mon Sep 20, 2021

Undergraduate First-Year Student Advisory Grades Due

Thu Oct 7, 2021

Fall break begins after last class

Sun Oct 10, 2021 – Thu Oct 14, 2021

Fall Break, No Classes

Sun Oct 17, 2021

Classes Resume

Mon Nov 8, 2021

Registration begins for following Spring

Thu Nov 18, 2021

Last Day to Withdraw from Courses

Thu Dec 2, 2021

Classes End

Fri Dec 3, 2021 – Sat Dec 4, 2021

Study days

Sun Dec 5, 2021 – Thu Dec 9, 2021

Exam days

Fri Dec 10, 2021

Study Day

Sat Dec 11, 2021

Exam day and End of the Semester

Thu Dec 16, 2021

All grades due by 5:00 pm (Doha time)

Sat Dec 18, 2021

Qatar National Day

Tue Dec 21, 2021

Registration for Spring continues – (TBC)

More Downloads

Download the printable PDF version of the Academic Calendar for your convenience.